amar ujala newspaper 28/09/2016

Chief minister Devendra Fadnavis on Tuesday announced names for the Bal Thackeray Memorial National Public Trust, to be headed by Shiv Sena executive president Uddhav Thackeray . Sena leader and industries minister Subhash Desai, BJP MP Poonam Mahajan, Sena youth wing president Aditya Thackeray , architect Shashi Prabhu, chief secretary Swadheen Kshatriya and secretaries of the departments of urban development, law and judiciary and BMC chief will be trustees. Two more trustees will nominated by the government.

According to an order passed by the government, it will be Desai’s responsibility to draft the memorandum of association and rules and regulations for the trust. Significantly, the two-page order, is silent on the cost and funding for the memorial to be constructed at the Mayor’s bungalow in Shivaji Park area.

Soon after Thackeray`s death in November 2012, there was a demand for setting up of a memorial in the heart of the city .When Fadnavis became CM, he set up a committee on December 4, 2014 to make recommendations for the memorial. The committee proposed Mayor’s bungalow for the memorial.

amar ujala newspaper 28/09/2016 :