asomiya pratidin epaper 19/11/2016

Bypolls to the Lakhimpur Parliamentary constituency and Baithalangso Assembly seat will be held tomorrow. Official sources said all preparations have been done to ensure smooth and free and fair elections, where polling will start from 7 am.

Even as some confusion prevailed over the use of indelible ink by banks during exchange of notes clashing with its use at polling stations, State election officials said the Election Commission has not revised any rules for conduct or use of indelible ink in the election process. “The guidelines for conduct of polls remain the same as earlier,” they said.

Additional security deployment has been made in both the constituencies and polling parties have started leaving for their respective stations from the headquarters.

BJP has fielded Pradan Barua from Lakhimpur Parliamentary seat, the bypoll to which was necessitated after Sarbananda Sonowal resigned following his election as an MLA from Majuli. The Congress has pitted Hema Hari Pegu against Barua, while rebel BJP leader Dilip Moran is also contesting as an independent candidate.

asomiya pratidin epaper 19/11/2016 :