dinathanthi newspaper 18/10/2016

Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Tiruparankundram constituencies will go to the polls on November 19 to elect their representatives to the Tamil Nadu assembly , and the results will be announced on November 22.

The Election Commission has also announced byelection in Nellithope constituency of Puducherry the same day . An entire assembly session has gone by without representatives from these constituencies. The election is being held even as CM and AIADMK leader J Jayalalithaa is recuperating in a city hospital. AIADMK has high stakes in the election as it is the first being held after the party’s victory in the assembly election. DMK too will put up a tough fight as the party along with its alliance partners Congress and IUML will touch the 100 mark or cross it if it wins all three seats. But it would still be short of majority with the ruling AIADMK having 132 representatives in the House.

Following the announcement of election in the three constituencies, the model code of conduct has come into effect in Thanjavur, Karur and Madurai districts where the constituencies are located.

The election in Thanjavur and Aravakurichi was countermanded after candidates were accused of bribing voters. Tiruparankundram will face a byelection as the incumbent AIADMK candidate S M Seenivel died soon after being elected and did not take oath as MLA. DMK had fielded M Manimaran.

dinathanthi newspaper 18/10/2016 :   http://www.dinathanthiepaper.in/firstpage.aspx