dinathanthi newspaper 27/09/2016

One former Rajya Sabha MP and four former MLAs were notable inclusions in the list of nominees set to contest the polls to Greater Chennai Corporation council seats, released by the AIADMK on Monday . AIADMK raced ahead yet again announcing its list of candidates ahead of rivals.

The high profile list includes N Balaganga (ward 78), the former MP , who had also contested and lost the mayor post against DMK’s Opposition leader MK Stalin in 2001. MLAs in the 2011-16 J Jayalalithaa regime JCD Prabhakar, KP Kandan, K Kuppan and VNP Venkatraman, are the other star nominees.

With Chennai set to have indirect elections to the mayor post on November 2, AIADMK sources indicated that any one of these five names could be elevated to the post, should the party win majority . Senior party functionaries suggested that Balaganga could well be in the fray , considering his seniority. “The others could become deputy mayor and standing committee chairmen,“ said an AIADMK party leader.

As many as 42 incumbent councillors have been given another chance to contest the polls. Of these, MC Munusa my , who lost the 2016 assembly elections from Velachery , has been re-nominated while A Noor Jahan, who lost from Chepauk-Triplicane, has been left out.

Other senior councillors like T Magizhanban, LIC Manickam, Vijayaramakrishna and the council’s `resident singer’ M Saroja have been denied tickets.

dinathanthi newspaper 27/09/2016 :   http://www.dinathanthiepaper.in/firstpage.aspx