Hueiyen Lanpao Manipur Daily 19/10/2016

Several aspirants have applied for Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress tickets for the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat. The Lok Sabha seat fell vacant following the resignation of Sarbananda Sonowal after his election from the Majuli constituency to the State Legislature and subsequently his assuming the charge of the Chief Minister.

The aspirants for the BJP tickets include Jagadish Bhuyan, Pradan Barua, Rupam Goswami, Mira Barthakur and Jayanta Malla Barua, among others. Significantly, Dr Ranoj Pegu of the Gana Shakti Party has also sought support from the BJP in the case of his offering his candidature for the seat.

The BJP and Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangha (RSS) state unit coordination committee will meet on October 28 to discuss and finalise the name of the BJP candidate for the Lok Sabha constituency, sources in the BJP said.

Hueiyen Lanpao Manipur Daily 19/10/2016 :