prabhat khabar epaper 27/09/2016

The State Election Commission has cleared the BMC’s delimitation proposal for the 2017 civic polls. A lottery announcing reservations will be held on October 3.

As anticipated, the number of electoral wards in the island city has reduced by seven because of a fall in population (according to the 2011 census), while those in the eastern and western suburbs have gone up. Areas where electoral wards will increase by one each are Malad (P-North), Govandi (M-East), Kandivli (R-South), Dahisar (RNorth), Bhandup (S), Ghatkopar (N) and Kurla (L). One electoral ward will decrease in each of A to E wards.

Two electoral wards will decrease in south Mumbai’s G-South ward, which includes areas of Mahalaxmi and Worli. The total number of electoral wards will continue to be 227. They will only be reshuffled among Mumbai’s 24 administrative wards. Municipal corporations like Pune, Thane, Solapur and Nashik, which too are scheduled for elections in 2017, will have more than one representative per electoral ward. In Mumbai, it will be one per ward.

prabhat khabar epaper 27/09/2016 :