prabhat khabar epaper 30/08/2016

On a day Jalpaiguri zilla parishad chairperson Noor Jahan Begum defected to Trinamool amid much fanfare, Congress made clear its intent to bring a no-confidence notice against two dissident karmadhyakshyas in Malda.

In the 32-member Malda zilla parishad, five Congress members -including sabhadipati Sarala Murmu, two Socialist Party members and seven CPM members -had recently joined Trinamool, taking their strength to 20. But it isn’t the TMC-controlled board that will elect karmadyakshas and pass the budget -that’s the job of the extended committee.

Congress now wants to expose this loophole to strip the defectors of their posts.

District Congress president MP Mousam Noor said: “Even after the dissidence, we have 38 members in the extended committee, out of 64. On this basis, we will bring a noconfidence motion against the defectors, Milan Das and Chandana Sarkar.“

prabhat khabar epaper 30/08/2016 :